Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Nebraska?
Sickness, Accident & Health Insurance Producer license
Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Nebraska?
Step 1 (optional): Complete an optional pre-licensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam. We recommend ExamFX.
Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Prometric. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 853-4753. Your exam may be taken at a physical Prometric examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.
Exam Fee is $45
To change or cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Prometric at least 24 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.
Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you a valid form of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) which must contain a photograph. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.
Security measures are taken for all testing methods. Restrictions on what you may bring with you to the testing center, into the testing room, and what you may wear will be enforced. For more detailed information about the security measures that will be taken during your testing appointment, please read and review the candidate bulletin offered at Prometric.
At the end of your exam, you will receive a notice of completion via email. For questions regarding your exam, contact Prometric.
Step 4: Apply for your license via NIPR or send the license application form and other required materials to the Nebraska Department of Insurance. Forms and more information can be found at the Department’s Licensing web page.
License Fee is $50
Step 6: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.
Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Nebraska?
You may use the material of your choosing to study for the license exam. Many different providers offer exam prep courses and because of the number and array of methods the department does not review, approve or recommend providers.
Nebraska statutes are referenced on the topic outline additionally and are available to review online or at any public library.
We recommend using ExamFX for pre-licensing study.
Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Nebraska?
Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Prometric. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 853-4753. Your exam may be taken at a physical Prometric examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.
Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?
There are 10 sections of the test in Nebraska:
- Insurance Regulation
- General Insurance
- Sickness and Accident Insurance Basics
- Individual Sickness and Accident Insurance Policy General Provisions
- Disability Income and Related Insurance
- Medical Plans
- Group Sickness and Accident Insurance
- Dental Insurance
- Insurance for Senior Citizens and Special Needs Individuals
- Federal Tax Considerations for Sickness and Accident Insurance
Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Nebraska?
If you are not a Nebraska resident and wish to apply for a Nebraska Nonresident License, you may apply as a nonresident online at www.nipr.com or download an NAIC Uniform Application from the Department’s website at www.doi.nebraska.gov. Otherwise, you may contact the Department to determine the appropriate procedures, fees and requirements.
Nonresident License Fee is $50
Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Nebraska?
Nebraska residents and non-residents can renew their license at www.nipr.com within the ninety day period before their expiration date.
The resident and non-resident Renewal Fee is $50
Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in STATE?
There is a late renewal period of up to thirty (30) days after the license expiration date. The reinstatement period is from thirty-one (31) days to one year past expiration.
The late renewal/reinstatement fee is $90.00 (in addition to the regular renewal fee) for both residents and non-residents.
Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Nebraska?
Licensees qualified to solicit one or more major lines of authority shall be required to complete 21 hours of continuing education activities plus 3 hours of ethics for a total of 24 hours.
Unable to renew online
*If your license is expiring and your continuing education has not yet been banked in the Nebraska system please mail in your renewal form and $50 renewal fee, as you cannot renew online until you are CE compliant and your payment must be postmarked on or before your expiration date to avoid a late renewal fee.
Repeating a course
A producer may not repeat a continuing education course for credit within a 2 year renewal period.
Continuing Education credits
Continuing Education credits may not be carried over to the next renewal period, if you have taken more than required.
You may not receive credit for a course that was approved for a line in which you do not hold a license. Example: Health only licensees will not receive credit for taking a course approved for Life Insurance.
Nebraska Licensing Information Handbook