Login | Partner With Us

Call Us: 1 (866) 444-9673

How to get an Insurance License in Nevada

Licensing Information

Licensing Steps

Studying for Exam

Scheduling the Exam

Parts of the Exam

Renewal Information

How to Renew

Continue Education

Expired License

Nonresident License

Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Nevada?

The line of authority to offer Medicare plans is an accident and health insurance license (Producer).

Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Nevada?

Step 1: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 274-2609. Your exam fee for a single line exam is $51 and combo exams are $61.

To change of cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When you register for your license exam, and/or apply for your license it is important to use the same name that appears on the identification forms you plan to present at the time of your testing appointment.

Step 2: Schedule a fingerprinting appointment with IdentoGO by MorphoTrust, USA for digital fingerprints.

Walk-in appointments are available at select locations. Access the Nevada Insurance Candidate Handbook for more information.

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), one of which must contain your name and photograph. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

At the end of your exam, you will receive a printed score report marked “pass” or “fail.”

Step 4: Apply for your license at www.sircon.com/Nevada. You must include: your signed Fingerprint Background Waiver Form, the receipt for your fingerprints, and any other required supporting documentation. Learn more about your license application requirements at the Nevada Insurance Department’s individual producer licensing page. Licensing fee: $185

Step 6: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.

Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Nevada?

Nevada requires applicants to complete a prelicensing course before their exam. They will drastically improve your chances of passing the exam on the first try. Exam FX creates highly successful courses with a 90% pass rate.

Here is an outline of the exam topics:

Nevada Health Insurance Examination

105 Total Questions (88 scored, 17 pretest)

Time Limit: 1 hour and 15 minutes for General, 1 hour for State Law

Passing score: 80%

General Knowledge:

  • Field Underwriting
  • Health Types of Policies
  • Health Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders
  • Social Insurance
  • Other Insurance Concepts

State Law:

  • Nevada Regulations Common to All Lines
  • Nevada Regulations Pertinent to Life and Health Insurance
  • Nevada Regulations Pertinent to Health Insurance Only

Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Nevada?

Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at www.pearsonvue.com. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (866) 247-4740. Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson Vue examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.

To change of cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.

Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?

There are 2 categories that make up the exam: General Knowledge and State Law. Each Category includes several topics that involve medical insurance, state-specific laws and regulations, etc. here is a breakdown of all the topics covered on the exam:

Nevada Health Insurance Examination

105 Total Questions (88 scored, 17 pretest)

Time Limit: 1 hour and 15 minutes for General, 1 hour for State Law

Passing score: 80%

General Knowledge:

  • Field Underwriting
  • Health Types of Policies
  • Health Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders
  • Social Insurance
  • Other Insurance Concepts

State Law:

  • Nevada Regulations Common to All Lines
  • Nevada Regulations Pertinent to Life and Health Insurance
  • Nevada Regulations Pertinent to Health Insurance Only

Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Nevada?

Nonresident individuals applying for a producer license must apply electronically through Sircon.  The State licensing fee is $185.  The vendor may charge transaction fees in addition to the state fee.

Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Nevada?

To renew a license, a licensee must complete the continuing education requirements and submit an electronic renewal application and renewal fee through Sircon.

Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Nevada?

A Nevada Health insurance license can only be renewed before 30 days past the license expiration. After 30 days, you will have to reapply for your license and retake the exam.

Reinstatement fee: $310

Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Nevada?

Resident producers are required to complete continuing education (CE).  Individuals must complete 30 hours of CE during the license term and prior to the expiration of the license.  Three of the hours must be in ethics.  To find CE courses for your line of authority, visit Sircon to use the education lookup tool.