Login | Partner With Us

Call Us: 1 (866) 444-9673

Getting Licensed in Alaska

Getting Licensed in Alaska

What are the Licensing Steps in Alaska?

Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Alaska?

Apply for an insurance producer with health insurance line of authority. Also known as a heath license.

Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Alaska?

Step 1 (optional): Complete an optional prelicensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam.

Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at www.pearsonvue.com/ak/insurance. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 274-5993. Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson Vue examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.

To change or cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee. Exam Fee: $89

Step 3: All resident candidates taking an insurance exam for the first time must be fingerprinted.

Only the Anchorage testing center offers fingerprints: to make a fingerprint reservation you will need to schedule with MorphoTrust USA via phone at 1-866-761-8069 or online with Pearson VUE. You must do so only after scheduling your examination appointment. https://pearsonwest.ibtfingerprint.com

If you are testing at any other Alaska testing center, contact your local department of Public Safety to have your fingerprints taken. You will submit your fingerprint card with your licensing application to the Department of Insurance, along with a $47 payment directed to the Alaska Dept. of Insurance for the cost of the criminal background check.

Step 4: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) one of which must contain a photograph. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

Candidates who pass all parts of an examination will receive a score report that indicates “pass” only; no numeric score is reported. For those candidates who fail one or more parts of the examination, a separate numeric score for each failed part will be reported.

Step 5: Apply for your license with NIPR. Licensing Fee: $75. More detailed information regarding the licensing process can be found on the Alaska Licensing page for individuals at NIPR. https://www.nipr.com/rules_ak_rl.htm.

Step 6: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.

Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Alaska?

Pearson VUE provides licensure exams for the Alaska Division of Insurance.

You can study for your exam by enrolling in a prelicensing course (we recommend ExamFX.com).

You can also study the state laws (http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#21) and the exam topics:

General Knowledge:

  • Field Underwriting Procedures
  • Types of Health Policies
  • Health Policy Provisions, Clauses and Riders
  • Social Insurance
  • Other Insurance Concepts

State Law:

  • Alaska Statutes and Rules Pertinent to Accident and Health Only
  • Alaska Statutes and Rules Common to All Lines

Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Alaska?

Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at www.pearsonvue.com/ak/insurance. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 274-5993. Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson Vue examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.

To change or cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.

All resident candidates taking an insurance exam for the first time must be fingerprinted.

Only the Anchorage testing center offers fingerprints: to make a fingerprint reservation you will need to schedule with MorphoTrust USA via phone at 1-866-761-8069 or online with Pearson VUE. You must do so only after scheduling your examination appointment. https://pearsonwest.ibtfingerprint.com

Please visit www.pearsonvue.com/ak/insurance/contact for further information. Candidates may contact the Alaska Division of Insurance with questions about obtaining or maintaining a license after the examination has been passed.

Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?

  • Each major lines examination is given in a multiple-choice format and consists of two parts. The general portion deals with basic insurance product knowledge. The state portion deals with state-specific insurance laws, rules, regulations, and practices.
  • The general portion of Life and Health consists of fifty (50) questions that count toward the score and ten (10) pretest questions that do not count toward the score.
  • The examination will contain pretest questions which do not count toward the score. Pretest questions account for approximately twenty percent (20%) of the total number of Part 2 questions.
  • Pearson VUE administers “limited lines” examinations in addition to the major lines

Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Alaska?

Non-resident licensees, who submit evidence satisfactory to the Director that the license has satisfied any continuing education requirement in their resident state, are exempt from Alaska CE requirements. Licensees who do not claim this exemption must satisfy Alaska resident CE requirements.

Nonresident Individual License

Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Alaska?

Most resident individual licensees who have held a license for a full two-year period are required to complete 24 credit hours of continuing education (CE)

Credit hours must be earned and reported before your renewal date.

3 credit hours must be in ethics.

No more than 8 credit hours may be in management, marketing, sales, and training.

For more information, please visit

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/ins/Producers/ContinuingEducation.aspx

Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Alaska?

If your license is between 1-61 days of the expiration, you can reinstate the license for a fee. If you are past the 61 days, you will have to retake your exam and reapply for an initial license.

Insurance Producer

Fee: $75.00
Reinstatement Fee: $175.00
Fee Disclaimers:-$275 (61days or more past expiration date)

Renew Through NIPR
Alaska Resident

Renew your license and find renewal rules and fees through NIPR.

Alaska Resident Individual Renewal
Nonresident

Renew your license and find renewal rules and fees through NIPR.

Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Alaska?

Most resident individual licensees who have held a license for a full two-year period are required to complete 24 credit hours of continuing education (CE).

  • Credit hours must be earned and reported before your renewal date.
  • 3 credit hours must be in ethics.
  • No more than 8 credit hours may be in management, marketing, sales, and training.
  • Take any approved CE course, including out-of-state and online courses.
  • Course topics can be unrelated to the lines of authority on your license.
  • Courses cannot be repeated within a renewal cycle.
  • Courses must be taken during your current renewal cycle, with the exception of approved carry-over credits.
  • Lookup (naic.org) – Locate CE Courses

State Commerce Website