Login | Partner With Us

Call Us: 1 (866) 444-9673

Getting Licensed in Louisiana

Getting Licensed in Louisiana

What type of Insurance License is needed to offer Medicare plans in Louisiana?

Health & Accident Producer Insurance License

 

What are the steps to apply for an insurance in Louisiana?

Step 1: Complete a prelicensing course that has been approved by the Department of Insurance. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will issue a certificate of completion which you may download and print from your online ExamFX account.

Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, PSI Exams. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at www.psiexams.com. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 733-9267.

Exam Fee is $38

Be aware that the state of Louisiana requires fingerprinting and background checks with your insurance agent licensing application. Fingerprinting requirements must be met at the exam site at the time of your appointment. You are unable to make an appointment. The fingerprinting fee is $58. The fingerprint images will be transmitted to the Louisiana State Police and the FBI who will return the results of your background check directly to the Department of Insurance.

In order to cancel your testing appointment without forfeiting your examination fee you must cancel at least two days in advance of your appointment. You may do so by phone or online.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When you register for ExamFX prelicensing courses, schedule your license exam, and/or apply for your license it is important to use the same name that appears on the identification forms you plan to present at the time of your testing appointment.

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), one of which must contain your name and photograph. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

Security measures are taken at the testing site. Restrictions on what you may bring with you to the testing center, into the testing room, and what you may wear will be enforced. For more detailed information about the security measures that will be taken during your testing appointment, please read and review the candidate bulletin offered at www.psiexams.com.

Once you have passed your examination you will receive a score report.

Step 4: Apply for your license. Louisiana resident applicants must use the online application service at www.nipr.com.

License Fee is $75

Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.

How do I study for my Insurance License in Louisiana?

Under Louisiana law an individual is required to take pre-licensing courses prior to scheduling and sitting for an examination for a producer license for certain lines of insurance. The candidate must sit for and pass the examination within one year of completion of the pre-licensing course. Health and accident only license requires 20 hours of pre-licensing study.

We recommend using ExamFX for pre-licensing study.

 

How do I schedule to take the Insurance exam in Louisiana?

Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, PSI Exams. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at www.psiexams.com. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 733-9267.

Be aware that the state of Louisiana requires fingerprinting and background checks with your insurance agent licensing application. Fingerprinting requirements must be met at the exam site at the time of your appointment. You are unable to make an appointment. The fingerprinting fee is $58. The fingerprint images will be transmitted to the Louisiana State Police and the FBI who will return the results of your background check directly to the Department of Insurance.

In order to cancel your testing appointment without forfeiting your examination fee you must cancel at least two days in advance of your appointment. You may do so by phone or online.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When you register for ExamFX prelicensing courses, schedule your license exam, and/or apply for your license it is important to use the same name that appears on the identification forms you plan to present at the time of your testing appointment.

 

When I test for the Insurance License are there different parts?

There are  sections of the test in Louisiana:

    1. General Insurance
    2. Health and Accident Insurance Basics
    3. Individual Health and Accident Insurance Policy General Provisions
    4. Disability Income and Related Insurance
    5. Medical Plans
    6. Group Health Insurance
    7. Insurance for Senior Citizens and Special Needs Individuals
    8. Federal Tax Considerations for Sickness and Accident Insurance
    9. Insurance Regulation

 

How do I apply for a non-resident Insurance License in Louisiana?

  • All nonresident individuals can submit their license application through NIPR.
  • All supporting documentation can be provided through the NIPR Attachment Warehouse.
  • Supporting documents may also be submitted to the state via mail, email, or fax.  If the applicant chooses to submit via mail, e-mail or fax, the documents must be submitted to the Louisiana Department of Insurance that same day as the license application and must include the transaction number and the applicant’s name.
  • Documentation submitted via mail must be postmarked within 24 hours of application submission.

 

How do I renew my Insurance License in Louisiana?

  • After you have completed your continuing education and you are within 90 days of your license expiration, you may renew your Louisiana insurance license online by using either the Industry Access portal or the National Insurance Producer Registry site.
  • There is a fee of $50 to renew your license if you have one line. Two or more lines requires a $55 fee.

Once this process is complete, your license will be renewed and your new expiration date will be two years from your previous expiration date.

 

What do I do if my license has expired in Louisiana?

Applicants will be able to late renew if they are past their license expiration date, inactive with a status reason as lapsed, and the application is submitted less than two years past line of authority status date.

Late Renewal Fee is $100 for Residents and Nonresidents.

 

What do I do for continuing education to keep my license in Louisiana?

The State of Louisiana requires that resident individual licensees complete:

  • Twenty-four (24) credit hours of continuing education every two-year renewal period.
  • Three (3) of those hours must be in the subject of ethics.
  • Credit for duplicates of the same course in one renewal period will NOT be given. So, be aware of duplicate courses when making choices for your continuing education hours.

Louisiana law provides for exemption or waiver of continuing education requirements for insurance producers and adjusters in certain circumstances.

**Age 65 Exemption

Insurance producers may request an exemption from continuing education requirements if the producer meets these requirements:

  • is age 65
  • has a minimum of 15 years experience as a licensed producer
  • is either (a) no longer actively engaged in the business of insurance or is (b) engaged in the business of insurance and is appointed by at least one Louisiana licensed insurance company.

Producers who request this exemption must complete the 65A Exemption Form and return it to the Department. Producers are still required to obtain four hours of training in each renewal period.

This exemption from continuing education requirements is granted for life and no additional filings are required from the producer to extend the exemption. The producer must continue to submit a renewal application each renewal period.

PLEASE NOTE: This exemption does not apply to the training required for all producers who sell, solicit or negotiate long-term care insurance products. 

 Louisiana Licensing Candidate Information Bulletin