Login | Partner With Us

Call Us: 1 (866) 444-9673

Getting Licensed in Maine

Getting Licensed in Maine

What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Maine?

Accident and Health Producer Insurance License

What are the steps to apply for an insurance license in Maine?

Step 1 (optional): Complete an optional pre-licensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam.

Step 2: Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, PearsonVUE https://home.pearsonvue.com/me/insurance. You may also schedule over the phone at 800-274-4959. The examination fee is $77. Fees must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. Fees will not be accepted at the test center.

If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 48 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee. If you are cancelling your appointment, you must do so at least three calendar days prior to your appointment. https://home.pearsonvue.com/me/insurance

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), one of which must contain a photograph and a signature. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

When candidates complete the examination, they will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail.” Candidates who pass the examination will receive a score report that includes information on how to apply for a license.

Step 4: Apply for your license with NIPR or by downloading the paper application at www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance/regulated/individuals_bus_entities/producers/producer_app.html and submit by e-mail, fax or regular mail to the Bureau of Insurance.

License Fee is $25 for Residents and $55 for Nonresidents

Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements.

 

How do I study for my insurance license in Maine?

Prelicensing courses should prepare you for the exam, but Maine does not require those. You can find a lot of information for free online but we highly suggest you purchase a study course to help you pass.

We recommend using ExamFX for pre-licensing study.

 

How do I schedule to take the insurance exam in Maine?

Maine uses Pearson VUE for their examination process. You can sign up and make an appointment for your exam. You can do that here: Maine Insurance :: Pearson VUE.

Exam cost: $77

 

When I test for the insurance license are there different parts?

There are 2 parts of the test in Maine:

  1. General Knowledge which includes Product Knowledge, Terms and Concepts
  2. Maine Specific which includes State Statutes, Rules and Regulations

 

How do I apply for a nonresident insurance license in Maine?

Nonresidents can apply for their Maine health license on NIPR:  Maine / Non-Resident Licensing / Individual | NIPR. This page also includes information about fees, lines or authority, and the rules and regulations for that state.

 

How do I renew my insurance license in Maine?

Maine individual non-resident producer licenses are perpetual so there is no expiration date and no renewal fees. Maine individual resident producer licenses are renewed automatically by our office the first business day following the Continuing Education (CE) due date, as long as all CE Requirements have been met.

 

What do I do If my license has expired?

  • Individuals have 60 days from their due date to complete the outstanding credits and to pay the continuing education late penalty. The license will remain active during that time but you will be subject to a late penalty.
  • The penalty for late credits is $25 per credit outstanding, up to a maximum of $250.
  • Once the credits are completed and the late penalty paid, the license will be reinstated.
  • After the 60 days, if the credits are still outstanding, a suspension/termination order will be issued advising when the license will be suspended and when the license will be cancelled.
  • In order to reinstate a license that has been cancelled for CE noncompliance or was in a suspended status prior to termination, the individual will need to retake the licensing exam, fill out a new application and pay the regular licensing fees. Maine Bureau of Insurance will not require any outstanding CE to be completed or require payment of any late CE penalty due to the new licensing exam taken by the individual.

 

What do I do for continuing education in Maine?

  • As a condition of continued licensure, all Maine resident producers and consultants are required to complete 24 credit hours of continuing education including a minimum of 3 credit hours in ethics, to be due every 2 years based on the birth month and year.
  • The same course cannot be taken within the current biennium.

Maine Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook