Login | Partner With Us

Call Us: 1 (866) 444-9673

Getting Licensed in Missouri

Getting Licensed in Missouri

What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Missouri?

An Accident and Health License.

 

What are the steps to apply for an insurance license in Missouri?

Step 1 (optional): Complete a prelicensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam.

 Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at www.pearsonvue.com. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (866) 247-4740. Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson Vue examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.

To change of cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) one of which must contain a photograph. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

Step 4: Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License after the waiting period of 24 hours. You can do so through NIPR.

When you complete your exam a score report will be provided marked “pass” or “fail.” If you pass you will receive more information on how to apply for your license at that time.

Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.

 

How do I study for my insurance license in Missouri?

We highly suggest prelicensing courses before you take your exam because they cover everything you need to know for your exam, however those can be costly. You can use the chart below (from ExamFX) to get a better understanding of the topics covered on the exam.

 

Missouri Accident & Health Insurance Examination

105 Total Questions (90 scored, 15 pretest)

Time limit: 2 hours- Passing score: 70%

GENERAL INSURANCE:

Field Underwriting

Types of Health Policies        

Health Policy Provisions, Clauses and Riders

Social Insurance        

Other Health Insurance Concepts

STATE LAW:

Missouri Rules and Regulations Common to All Lines

Missouri Rules and Regulations Pertinent to Health Only        

 

 

How do I schedule to take the insurance exam in Missouri?

Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at www.pearsonvue.com. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (866) 247-4740. Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson Vue examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.

To change of cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.

Exam cost: $39

 

When I test for the insurance license are there different parts?

There are 2 sections to each health license exam- General Knowledge and State law. Each section has multiple categories. ExamFX offers courses that cover all of the topics and their pass rate is 90%. You can also use the chart on their website to see what categories you need to study and how much of the test is focused on each category. (Missouri Insurance Prelicensing State Requirements (examfx.com)

 

How do I apply for a nonresident insurance license in Missouri?

All non-residents can apply for licensing in Missouri through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) : Missouri / Non-Resident Licensing / Individual | NIPR. NIPR also includes all of the information and steps you need to get licensed.

 

How do I renew my insurance license in Missouri?

To renew your license in Missouri, you will need to complete your Continuing Education (CE) courses, both online and in-person. There is a pdf of all the Missouri Board approved training agencies here: TrainingAgencyList.pdf (mo.gov).

Once you are CE compliant, you will be able to renew your license and pay the $100 renewal fee. You will need to renew your license every 2 years, and if you are late to renew your license, you will have to pay $25 per month until you do.  Your renewal period is 90 days before your license expires but you will want to complete it early to avoid potential delays.

What do I do If my license has expired?

If you are late to renew your license, you will incur a $25 late fee for each month it is late until you are CE compliant, have paid the renewal fee, and have applied for the renewal. If you are over 12 months late to renew, you will have to retake your licensing exam and reapply for your license.

 

What do I do for continuing education to keep my license in Missouri?

  • Producers in Missouri are required to take 16 hours of CE
  • 3 of those being in ethics, every 2 years.
  • The license term is 2 years from the license issuance date.
  • A course may not be repeated more than once in a 2-year license term.
  • All hours that are earned in excess may be carried into the next 2-year license term.

For more information and for available CE courses in your area you can visit : Missouri Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements (examfx.com).