Getting Licensed in North Dakota
What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in North Dakota?
Accident & Health Insurance Producer license
What are the Licensing Steps in North Dakota?
Step 1 (optional): Complete an optional prelicensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam.
Step 2: Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, Prometric. You may also schedule over the phone at
If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 24 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee. If you are cancelling your appointment, you must do so at least three calendar days prior to your appointment.
Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you one valid form of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), which must contain a photograph and a signature. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.
Security measures are taken for all testing methods. Restrictions on what you may bring with you to the testing center, into the testing room, and what you may wear will be enforced. For more detailed information about the security measures that will be taken during your testing appointment, please read and review the candidate bulletin offered at Prometric.
When candidates complete the examination, they will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail.” Candidates who pass the examination will receive a score report that includes information on how to apply for a license.
You must pass your examination prior to being fingerprinted.
Applicants need to pass both sections of the test before they are fingerprinted. Your score will be given to you immediately following completion of the examination.
If you fail one portion of the exam, you will need to reschedule with Prometric to take the portion of the test you did not pass. If you pass, you can be fingerprinted at that time. Total Fingerprinting cost is $56.25.
Click here for more information regarding fingerprinting locations.
Step 4: Apply for your license at www.nipr.com within 12 months of passing the examination. Licensing Fee is $100.00.
Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.
How do I study for my health insurance license exam in North Dakota?
The Department of Insurance does not provide study materials, cannot recommend any supplier for study materials and does not evaluate the quality of any training course or study material. You are free to use the materials of your choice to prepare for the exam. Different publishers provide materials to assist you in preparing for insurance licensing exams. These materials take different approaches and you should choose one that meets your needs.
We recommend using ExamFX for pre-licensing study.
North Dakota Accident and Health or Sickness Insurance Examination
110 Total Questions (100 scored, 10 pretest)
General Knowledge: 60 Questions (60 scored, 5 pretest)Time limit: 70 Minutes
State Law: 40 Questions (40 scored, 5 pretest) Time limit: 50 Minutes
Time limit: 120 Minutes- Passing score: 70%
- General Insurance
- Health Insurance Basics
- Individual Health Insurance Policy General Provisions
- Disability Income and Related Insurance
- Medical Plans
- Group Health Insurance
- Dental Insurance
- Insurance for Senior Citizens and Special Needs Individuals
- Federal Tax Considerations for Health Insurance
- Insurance Regulation
- North Dakota Laws and Regulations Pertaining to Accident and Health Insurance
How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in North Dakota?
The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at Prometric. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at
Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?
There are 2 parts of the test in North Dakota:
- General Knowledge, which includes Product Knowledge, Terms and Concepts
- North Dakota Specific, which includes State Statutes, Rules and Regulations
How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in North Dakota?
Applicants for an individual North Dakota non-resident insurance producer license can apply electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). The fee for an initial application for an non-resident insurance producer license is $100.
How do I renew my health insurance license in North Dakota?
- Complete a renewal application within 90 days of your license expiration date;
- Pay the $25 fee; and
- If CE is required, have the required number of CE hours on file with the North Dakota Insurance Department.
There is no grace period after the due date. If not renewed before the expiration date, your license and appointments will be canceled and you will have to reapply with an initial application and $100 fee.
Your record must show compliance with CE requirements. CE providers have 15 days from course completion to file the credits with the Department, so courses taken less than 15 days before the expiration date may not be credited in time for license renewal.
As long as your license in your home state is in good standing, there are no additional continuing education (CE) requirements in North Dakota for non-resident producers.
Renewal fee for Residents and Nonresidents $25
What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in North Dakota?
You can simply re-apply. Visit the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) to apply for a new license. The initial license fee is $100.
What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in North Dakota?
North Dakota resident insurance producers licensed for life and annuities, accident and health, casualty, property, personal lines and crop hail or any combination of these lines of authority must complete at least 24 credit hours of approved continuing education (CE) per biennial compliance period based on your expiration date. Three of the 24 hours must be in ethics.
Insurance producers are responsible for keeping track of their CE credits and must retain course completion certificates for completed courses. CE providers are required to report course completions to the Department within 15 days of the course completion date.
You may view your CE transcript through the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) State Based Systems (SBS).
Up to 12 hours of course work over the minimum requirement taken in the last 12 months of your reporting period may be credited to the next 12 months. Ethics hours may be carried forward as regular hours; however, they cannot be carried forward as ethics hours.