Login | Partner With Us

Call Us: 1 (866) 444-9673

Getting Licensed in Rhode Island

Getting Licensed in Rhode Island

What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Rhode Island?

Accident & Health or Sickness Insurance Producer license

 

 What are the Licensing Steps in Rhode Island?

Step 1 (optional): Complete an optional pre-licensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam.

Step 2: Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUEYou may also schedule over the phone at (800) 274-3739. Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson Vue examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Fees must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. Fees will not be accepted at the test center.

Exam Fee: $80 at a testing center

OnVUE online testing fee: $50

**If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 48 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee. If you are cancelling your appointment, you must do so at least three calendar days prior to your appointment.

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), one of which must contain a photograph and a signature. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

If testing at a Pearson VUE testing site, the score report will be provided at the test center. If testing online, candidates will need to log into their Pearson VUE account to obtain their score report.

Step 4: : Apply for your license with NIPR. Review this important information on the subject and refer to the Rhode Island Department of Insurance.

License Fee is $120 for Residents and $130 for Non-Residents.

 

How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Rhode Island?

We recommend using ExamFX for pre-licensing study. However, there are also study materials and content outlines available on the Rhode Island state exam site Pearson Vue.

 

How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Rhode Island?

Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUEYou may also schedule over the phone at (800) 274-3739. Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson Vue examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Fees must be paid to make a reservation, no payments will be accepted at the testing site.

Exam Fee is $80 at a testing center or $50 if utilizing OnVUE online testing.

If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 48 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee. If you are cancelling your appointment, you must do so at least three calendar days prior to your appointment.

Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?

General Knowledge

  • Completing the Application, Underwriting, and Delivering the Policy
  • Types of Life Policies
  • Life Policy Provisions, Options, and Riders
  • Taxes, Retirement, and Other Insurance Concepts

State Law

  • Rhode Island Rules and Regulations Common to Life, Accident and Health Insurance
  • Rhode Island Rules and Regulations Pertinent to Life Insurance and Annuities Only

 

How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Rhode Island?

Non-residents can complete an online application at www.nipr.com

The Non-resident License Fee is $130.

 

How do I renew my health insurance license in Rhode Island?

Complete online renewal application and pay renewal fees online by credit card at NIPR. You must have your resident license number and your national producer number (NPN) available. All continuing education credits must be completed prior to renewal and your licensing record must be compliant. You can verify your continuing education credits here.

Resident Renewal Fee: $120.00

Non-Resident Renewal Fee: $130.00

 

What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Rhode Island?

The reinstatement period for a producer license is thirty days (30) after the expiration date of the license up to three hundred sixty five days (365) after the expiration date. The online renewal application must be completed at NIPR. You must have your resident license number and your national producer number (NPN) available.

**All continuing education credits must be completed prior to reinstatement and your licensing record must be compliant. To verify that your continuing education credits have been reported to your licensing record please access your transcript here. 

Resident Reinstatement Fee: $170

Non-Resident Reinstatement Fee: $180

 

What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Rhode Island?

Resident Producers

CE Guidelines

Rhode Island residents must complete twenty-four (24) accumulated credit hours including a minimum of three (3) hours in ethics for each biennial license period.

Recommended Courses

Producers must complete a minimum of 5 hours in each line of authority they are licensed in.

Repeat Courses

Courses may not be repeated within a 2-year license term.

Credits Carried Over

A maximum of 12 excess credits will be carried forward into the next license term; excess ethics credits will be carried forward as general credit.

**Non-residents must comply with the continuing education requirements of their resident state.