Login | Partner With Us

Call Us: 1 (866) 444-9673

Getting Licensed in South Carolina

Getting Licensed in South Carolina

What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in South Carolina?

Life, Accident, and Health Insurance Producer License

 

What are the Licensing Steps in South Carolina?

Step 1 (Optional): Complete an optional pre-licensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam.

Step 2: Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, PSI Exams. You may also schedule over the phone at (800) 733-9267. Your exam may be taken at a physical PSI examination center or via a remote online proctored exam.

Exam Fee: $45
**Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.
**If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 48 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee.

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you one valid form of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), which must contain a photograph and a signature. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.
**If you pass, you will receive a successful score report. If you do not pass, you will receive a report indicating your strengths and weaknesses by examination type.

Step 4: Apply for your Life, Accident, and Health Insurance Producer License at Nipr.
License Fee: $25

 

How do I study for my health insurance license exam in South Carolina?

Complete an optional pre-licensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam. Although we recommend using ExamFX for prelicensing study, there are also practice tests available through PSI Exams.

 

How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in South Carolina?

Schedule your exam online: PSI Exams.

By phone: (800) 733-9267.

Exam Fee: $45
**Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.
**If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 48 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee. If you are cancelling your appointment, you must do so at least three calendar days prior to your appointment.

 

Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?

  • General Insurance
  • Health Insurance Basics
  • Individual Health Insurance Provisions
  • Disability Income and Related Insurance
  • Medical Plans
  • Group Health Insurance
  • Dental Insurance
  • Insurance for Senior Citizens and Special Needs Individuals
  • Federal Tax Considerations for Health Insurance
  • Insurance Regulation

 

How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in South Carolina?

If License status cannot be verified on the State Producer Licensing Database (SPLD), certification from the applicant’s home state will be required.
License Fee: $25

 

How do I renew my health insurance license in South Carolina?

Complete an online producer renewal application by visiting NIPR.

Renewal Fee: $25+$5 Service Fee

 

What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in South Carolina?

A producer may reinstate an expired license for failure to renew by:

Completing a renewal application and paying the renewal fee of $25 as well as the penalty fee. Penalty fees are listed below.

Renewal penalty fee:

1-30 Days of the license expiration date – $50

31-60 Days of the license expiration date – $100

61-180 Days of the license expiration date – $250

 

What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in South Carolina?

CE Guidelines
Complete 24 hrs of continuing education. 3 hrs must be in Ethics; 8 hrs must be in each line of authority; remaining 5 hrs may be in any line of authority.

Repeat Courses
A course may not be repeated within 2 calendar years of the initial completion date.

Approved Courses
A minimum of 8 hours must be taken in the line of authority that the producer is licensed in.

Credits Carried Over
A maximum of 18 credit hours can be carried over into the next license term. Ethics credits will be carried over as general credit.

Non-Residents
Nonresidents are not required to take CE in South Carolina if they have completed CE in their home state and remain in good standing. If the home state does not have a CE requirement, nonresident producers must comply with South Carolina’s CE requirement.