How to get an Insurance License in Colorado

Licensing Information

Licensing Steps

Studying for Exam

Scheduling the Exam

Parts of the Exam

Renewal Information

How to Renew

Continue Education

Expired License

Nonresident License

Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Colorado?

To sell Medicare in Colorado you must have a Accident and Health insurance license (Producer).

Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Colorado?

Step 1: Complete a prelicensing course that has been approved by the Department of Insurance. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will issue a certificate of completion which you may download and print from your online ExamFX account. Certificate population may be delayed by a short period time due to need for proctor validation.

Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. You may also schedule over the phone at (800) 274-2616. You must provide the training provider code (ExamFX training provider code is 50801) at the time of making their Pearson VUE licensing examination reservation. Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson VUE examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.

All pre-licensing requirements must be satisfied prior to passing the Pearson VUE examination for the exam scores to be valid. Passing scores are valid for one (1) year from the examination date and the license application must be received by Pearson VUE within one (1) year of passing the examination. To obtain your score report, log into your Pearson VUE account. For test center exams prior to August 6, 2020, contact customer service at (800) 274-2616 to request your score report.

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. Exam Fee: $48. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) which must contain your name and photograph. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

After the exam, results will be available immediately.

Step 4: Apply for your license. $47 per Line of authority. Colorado resident applicants may use the online application service at NIPR or with Sircon.

Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.

Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Colorado?

Colorado requires potential agents take and complete a state approved prelicensing course before taking their licensing exam, which should significantly prepare you for the exam. However, there are other resources to be found online as well. Here is a breakdown of each topic covered on the licensing exam:

General Knowledge:

  • Field Underwriting Procedures
  • Types of Policies
  • Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders
  • Social Insurance
  • Other Insurance Concepts

State Law:

  • Colorado Statutes, Rules, and Regulations Common to All Lines
  • Colorado Statutes, Rules, and Regulations Pertinent to Sickness and Accident Only

Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Colorado?

Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. You may also schedule over the phone at (800) 274-2616. You must provide the training provider code (ExamFX training provider code is 50801) at the time of making their Pearson VUE licensing examination reservation. Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson VUE examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.

All pre-licensing requirements must be satisfied prior to passing the Pearson VUE examination for the exam scores to be valid. Passing scores are valid for one (1) year from the examination date and the license application must be received by Pearson VUE within one (1) year of passing the examination. To obtain your score report, log into your Pearson VUE account. For test center exams prior to August 6, 2020, contact customer service at (800) 274-2616 to request your score report.

Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?

Yes, there are 2 different sections to the health insurance license exam: General Knowledge and State Law. Each section has multiple topics. Here is the list of topics:

General Knowledge:

  • Field Underwriting Procedures
  • Types of Policies
  • Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders
  • Social Insurance
  • Other Insurance Concepts

State Law:

  • Colorado Statutes, Rules, and Regulations Common to All Lines
  • Colorado Statutes, Rules, and Regulations Pertinent to Sickness and Accident Only

Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Colorado?

Nonresidents will need to complete prelicensing requirements, pay the fees ($71), and apply for their license just like resident applicants. They can apply through NIPR: https://nipr.com/licensing-center/state-requirements/colorado-non-resident-licensing-individual

Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Colorado?

Licensees have to complete Continuing Education requirements, pay the fees, and renew before the expiration printed on the license.

The Colorado Division of Insurance utilizes an all-electronic process for all new license, renewal, and continuation applications, agency registrations, letter of certification requests, address changes, and CE Course banking by providers. Most applications are processed in under five business days. If your application needs more in-depth review, it may take longer to process. Paper applications/requests for these transactions will be returned unprocessed.

Renewal fee: $27 (Per line of authority)

Online processing is available at the following: sircon or nipr

Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Colorado?

The Colorado Division of Insurance utilizes an all-electronic process for all new license, renewal, and continuation applications, agency registrations, letter of certification requests, address changes, and CE Course banking by providers.

Online processing is available at the following: www.sircon.com or www.nipr.com.

Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Colorado?

Resident Insurance Producers must satisfy continuing education requirements in order to renew their license. The continuing education requirement is 24 hours every 2 years (3 hours ethics, 18 hours in major lines and 3 hours miscellaneous). You can find courses for your state here.