How to get an Insurance License in Delaware

Licensing Information

Licensing Steps

Studying for Exam

Scheduling the Exam

Parts of the Exam

Renewal Information

How to Renew

Continue Education

Expired License

Nonresident License

Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Delaware?

To sell Medicare in Delaware you will need an Accident & Health or Sickness license (Producer)

Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Delaware?

Step 1 (optional): Complete an optional prelicensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam.

Step 2: Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, PearsonVUE. You may also schedule over the phone at 800-274-0455. The examination fee is $90. Fees must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. Fees will not be accepted at the test center.

If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 48 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee. If you are cancelling your appointment, you must do so at least three calendar days prior to your appointment. https://home.pearsonvue.com/de/insurance

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), one of which must contain a photograph and a signature. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

When candidates complete the examination, they will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail.” Candidates who pass the examination will receive a score report that includes information on how to apply for a license.

Step 4: Apply for your license with NIPR. License Fee: $100. Within 90 days of application you must submit a criminal history report. Review this important information on the subject and refer to the Delaware Department of Insurance.

Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.

Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Delaware?

Delaware does not require applicants to complete a prelicensing course but the likelihood of passing the exam will go up if you use one of the prelicensing courses.

We recommend using ExamFX for pre-licensing study.

Here is a list of all the topics covered in the exam:

Delaware Accident and Health Insurance Examination

115 Total Questions (92 scored, 23 pretest) Time Limit: 135 Minutes

Passing score: 70%

General Knowledge:

  • Field Underwriting Procedures
  • Types of Health Policies
  • Health Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders
  • Social Insurance
  • Other Insurance Concepts

State Law:

  • Delaware Statutes, Regulations and Bulletins Pertinent to Life, Accident and Health, Property and Casualty Insurance
  • Delaware Statutes, Rules, Regulations and Bulletins Common to Both Life and Health Insurance
  • Delaware Statutes, Rules, Regulations and Bulletins Common to Both Life and Health Insurance
  • Insurance Ethics

Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Delaware?

Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, PearsonVUE. You may also schedule over the phone at 800-274-0455. The examination fee is $90. Fees must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. Fees will not be accepted at the test center.

If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 48 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee. If you are cancelling your appointment, you must do so at least three calendar days prior to your appointment.

Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance Delaware?

Yes, there are two parts of the exam- General knowledge and State law. Here are the different topics covered in the exam:

Delaware Accident and Health Insurance Examination

115 Total Questions (92 scored, 23 pretest). Time Limit: 135 Minutes

Passing score: 70%

General Knowledge:

  • Field Underwriting Procedures
  • Types of Health Policies
  • Health Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders
  • Social Insurance
  • Other Insurance Concepts

State Law:    

  • Delaware Statutes, Regulations and Bulletins Pertinent to Life, Accident and Health, Property and Casualty Insurance
  • Delaware Statutes, Rules, Regulations and Bulletins Common to Both Life and Health Insurance
  • Delaware Statutes, Rules, Regulations and Bulletins Common to Both Life and Health Insurance
  • Insurance Ethics

Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Delaware?

Apply for your license. Delaware resident applicants must use the online application service at NIPR. Additional licensing application guidance may be accessed on the NIPR website.

Licensing Fee is $100 for Residents and Non-Residents.

Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements.

Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Delaware?

Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements.

  • Late Fee (March 1st – August 31st): Double the renewal fee
  • Late Fee (September 1st – February 28th odd years): *Late fee +  $200 administrative fee.
  • For Producers, Bail Producer, Fraternal Producers, and Surplus Lines Brokers, Adjuster Public Adjusters there is a $200 CE late fee in addition to the late fee if you are late completing CE. The CE expiration date is 2/28.
  • If Continuing Education is not completed by 2/28, a $200 Continuing Education Late Fee will be assessed in addition to the late fee.

Go to www.nipr.com and follow these steps:

  • Select “Renew.”
  • On the “Application Select” page
  • Select “Resident Licensing Renewals” or “Non-Resident Renewals”
  • On the “State Requirements” page, select “RENEW HERE” (Green box)

Renewal Fee: $100 (plus the NIPR transaction fee)

Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Delaware?

In Delaware, insurance licenses expire every two years. The expiration will be on the last day of February of each even-numbered year, either February 28th or February 29th during a leap year. The renewal period begins on December 1st of each odd-numbered year.

There is no requirement to take another exam from the state, though depending on the format of your continuing education, it is possible that you may take a short knowledge test at the end of the course to be sure that you understand important insurance concepts, laws, and regulations.

Insurance Producer

Renewal Fee: $100.00

Late Renewal Fee: $200.00

Fee Disclaimers:

by $200 Continuing Education Late Fee assessed in addition to the late fee.

If your license is a year or more expired, you will have to retake your license exam and reapply for your license.

If this is the state you reside in, then renewing your license will also keep any non-resident license you have in good standing. You will still need to pay the license renewal fee for non-resident licenses held in other states.

Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Delaware?

The State of Delaware requires that resident individual licensees complete twenty-four (24) credit hours of continuing education every two-year renewal period. Three (3) of those hours must be in the subject of ethics or consumer protection.

Non-resident producers are exempt from continuing education requirements although if a producer fails to comply with continuing education requirements in his or her home state may result in the suspension/revocation and or fines.

  • How do I obtain a list of approved Continuing Education providers?

 All Delaware approved Continuing Education providers