Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Illinois?
An Accident and Health license
Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Illinois?
Step 1: Complete a prelicensing course that has been approved by the Department of Insurance. We recommend using ExamFX. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will review your completion to verify that you have attended the required classroom portion of the course and completed your simulated exam.
Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 274-0402. Your exam fee is $103.
Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) one of which must contain your name and photograph. You must also supply a copy of a signed Pre-license Course Certificate issued by ExamFX. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.
Upon completion, you will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail.” If you pass your score report will include information on applying for your license.
Step 4: Apply for your license. You must wait at least 5 days after passing the licensing exam before you may apply for your license. Once you have waited the necessary amount of time, apply online with NIPR. Licensing fee: $90
Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.
Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Illinois?
Virtual trainings for the prelicensing course requirements are available on www.examfx.com now. Enroll in a state approved pre-licensing exam.
Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Illinois?
Create an account on Illinois Insurance :: Pearson VUE. Follow the steps for scheduling your exam (indicated in Pearson website). Exam fee: $103
Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?
Yes! There are 2 main parts of the test- General Knowledge and State Law. Each part has several categories for you to study.
Illinois Accident and Health Insurance Examination
107 Total Questions (89 scored, 18 pretest)
Time: 135 minutes
Passing score: 70%
- Field Underwriting
- Types of Health Policies
- Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders
- Social Insurance
- Other Insurance Concepts
- Illinois Statutes and Regulations Common to All Lines
- Illinois Statutes and Regulations Pertinent to A&H Insurance Only
- Illinois Statutes and Regulations Pertinent to Managed Care
Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Illinois?
To apply for your non-resident insurance license in Illinois you can go to Illinois / Non-Resident Licensing / Individual | NIPR. This page on NIPR will assist you with all of your questions about fees, lines of authority, and rules and regulations.
Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Illinois?
You must be CE compliant at least ten (10) business days prior to your renewal date.
CE compliant means:
- Complete 24 hours of course study of which 3 of those hours must consist of in the classroom or webinar ethics.
- The CE hours must be on SBS at least 10 business days from the date the CE provider banked them to your record.
- Please Note – your education provider has 10 days from the Saturday after you take the exam to send your results to the Department.
- Renewal Fee $180
Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Illinois?
*COMPLETE YOUR CE EARLY, THERE IS NO EXTENSION TO COMPLETE YOUR CE AND IF YOU ARE LATE A PENALTY FEE OF DOUBLE THE UNPAID LICENSE FEE WILL BE ASSESSED.*
You have 90 days before your license expiration date to renew your license.
If your license has expired, you will have to retake the licensing exam and reapply for your license.
Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Illinois?
You are required to be CE compliant in order to renew your license. For the Illinois Health Insurance License, you will need to take 24 hours of insurance CE.
There are self-paced options, in-person classes, and scheduled online webinars for your convenience. Information about requirements and options can be found here : Illinois Insurance Continuing Education | StateRequirement
To check your CE compliance visit: License Manager (naic.org)