Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Indiana?
An insurance producer license with health insurance line of authority
Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Indiana?
Step 1: Complete a prelicensing course that has been approved by the Department of Insurance. We recommend using ExamFX. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will issue a certificate of completion which you may download and print from your online ExamFX account.
Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson Vue at least 24 hours in advance. First-time users are required to create an account. You may also schedule over the phone at (800) 274-2616. Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson Vue examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Your exam fee must be paid at the time of reservation. Exam fee: $69 per attempt
Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you one valid form of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) which must contain your name and photograph. You must also bring with you your certificate of completion. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.
After the exam, you will be provided with your official score report.
Step 4: Apply for your license. Indiana resident applicants may use the online application service at NIPR or SIRCON. Additional licensing application guidance may be accessed on the NIPR website. Licensing fee: $40 plus transaction fee.
Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.
Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Indiana?
Your prelicensing courses should help you study for the exam but the IDOI (Indiana Department of Insurance) has provided an outline for the examination content here: 121501 (pearsonvue.com). Use every resource (including us!) to study for the exam so that you pass on your first try.
Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Indiana?
You can find available testing options and times at : https://home.pearsonvue.com/in/insurance.
Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?
Virtual trainings for the prelicensing course requirements are available on www.examfx.com now.
You will need to find and complete a prelicensing course that has DOI (Department of insurance) approval. These courses will help your prepare for your exam.
Exam FX also has specific charts for each licensing exam to show you the fields you will need to focus on.
Indiana Accident and Health Insurance Examination
95 questions (80 scored; 15 pretest)
Time Limit: 2 Hours
Passing score: 70%
- Field Underwriting Procedures
- Types of Health Policies
- Health Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders
- Social Insurance
- Other Health Insurance Concepts
- Indiana Laws and Departmental Rules Common to All Lines
- Health Regulations
Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Indiana?
To apply for your non-resident insurance license in Indiana you can go to https://nipr.com/licensing-center/state-requirements/indiana-non-resident-renewal-individual . This page on NIPR will assist you with all of your questions about fees, lines of authority, and rules and regulations.
Nonresident Licensing Fee $90 + applicable retaliatory fees (click here to see if you must pay a retaliatory fee)
Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Indiana?
You must be CE compliant at least ten (10) business days prior to your renewal date.
CE compliant means:
- Complete 24 hours of course study of which 3 of those hours must consist of in the classroom or webinar ethics.
- The CE hours must be on SBS at least 10 business days from the date the CE provider banked them to your record.
- Please Note – your education provider has 10 days from the Saturday after you take the exam to send your results to the Department. Il. Admin. Rules Title 50 3119.45 (b) (1) States
“…The producer should complete the course no later than 1 month prior to the license extension date to allow time for the provider to submit proof of completion to the Director…”
Here are step by step directions for the online renewal application.
Renewal Fee: $40 for Residents and $90 for Nonresidents + applicable retaliatory fees (click here to see if you must pay a retaliatory fee)
Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Indiana?
If you are still within the first 12 months of your license being expired, then you can reinstate your license. If you are past the 12 month period you will need to start over with an initial resident license. For more information and details about reinstatement go to the Indiana DOI : IDOI: Reinstating a Resident License That Has Been Expired for Less Than Twelve (12) Months
Reinstatement fee: $120 + $40 renewal fee = $160
Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Indiana?
Producers in Indiana are required to complete 24 hours of CE, including 3 hours of ethics, every 2-year license term.
For more information about CE compliance in your state : Indiana Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements (examfx.com)