Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Iowa?
Accident & Health Insurance Producer license
Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Iowa?
Step 1: (optional): Complete an optional prelicensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam. We recommend using ExamFX.
Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson Vue, at least 24 hours prior to your desired examination date. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online with Pearson Vue www.pearsonvue.com. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (877) 540-5825.Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson Vue examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation. Exam Fee is $49
To change or cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson Vue at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.
If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 48 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee. If you are cancelling your appointment, you must do so at least three calendar days prior to your appointment. https://home.pearsonvue.com/de/insurance
Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment, arrive at the test center 30 minutes before your scheduled appointment time to complete the necessary sign-in procedures. You must bring with you two (2) forms of personal ID (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) Both must have your signature, and one of the two must have your photo. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.
The computerized exam is scored immediately upon completion of parts I and II of the exam.
Step 4: Allow up to three business days for the exam results to transfer to the NIPR Online System. Exam results are valid for 90 days. Apply for your license with NIPR. Detailed licensing information can be found through the Department of Insurance. https://iid.iowa.gov/obtaining-a-new-license-or-authority
License Fee $50
Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.
Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Iowa?
Iowa does not have any pre-licensing requirements. You are free to use the materials of your choice to prepare for the examination.
We recommend using ExamFX for pre-licensing study.
Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Iowa?
Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson Vue, at least 24 hours prior to your desired examination date. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online with Pearson Vue www.pearsonvue.com. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (877) 540-5825.Your exam may be taken at a physical Pearson Vue examination center or via a remote online proctored exam.
Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?
There are 2 parts of the test in Iowa:
- General Knowledge, which includes Product Knowledge, Terms and Concepts
- Iowa Specific, which includes State Statutes, Rules and Regulations
Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Iowa?
You can apply for a nonresident insurance license at Iowa / Non-Resident Licensing / Individual | NIPR.
License fee is $50
Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Iowa?
Insurance producers who maintain a valid email address with the Iowa Insurance Division will receive a courtesy renewal reminder approximately 60 days before their license expires. Within 60 days of license expiration, all resident and non-resident Iowa insurance producers should complete the renewal application and submit the renewal fee through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) online system. Iowa resident insurance producers with lines of authority requiring continuing education must be compliant before renewing.
Renewal fee is $50 for Residents and Nonresidents
Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Iowa?
If your license has expired, you have 12 months after to complete your CE requirements, apply for renewal, pay the renewal fee, and pay an additional $100 reinstatement fee. After twelve months, you will have to retake the initial exam and reapply for your license.
Reinstatement Fee + Renewal Fee is $200 for Residents and Nonresidents.
Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Iowa?
36 credits are required of which at least three (3) credits must be in the subject of Ethics. Self-study credits that do not count towards obtaining a national designation are limited. Only half the producer’s credits (18) may be obtained as self-study if they are non-designation courses. The exams must be closed book and monitored. A passing grade of 70% is required.
Credits are not allowed to carry over to the next renewal term.
Nonresident producers who live in a state where CE is required are exempt.
Iowa Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook