Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Kentucky?
Health Insurance Producer License
Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Kentucky?
Step 1: Complete a pre-licensing course that has been approved by the Department of Insurance. We recommend using ExamFX. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will issue a certificate of completion which you may download and print from your online ExamFX account. You must sign and date your certificate.
Step 3: Apply for Criminal Background Report online through the KY Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) at https://kycourts.gov. Fees are paid online, and are not refundable. For more details click here.
Criminal Background Report Fee is $25
Step 2: Apply for your license. Kentucky resident applicants must use the online application service at www.nipr.com. Additional licensing application guidance may be accessed on the NIPR website.
License Fee $80 for Residents and $100 for Nonresidents
Step 3: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, the Kentucky Department of Insurance. Registration must be completed through your eServices account after the Department processes your application.
Exam Fee $50
Step 4: Take and pass you state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you one valid form of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) that must contain your name and photograph and your Certificate of Completion. You must also bring with you your certificate of completion. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.
Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.
Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Kentucky?
Resident individuals applying for an AGENT (Producer) license examination must complete a 20-hour pre-licensing classroom or self-study course for their requested lines of authority.
We recommend using ExamFX for pre-licensing study.
Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Kentucky?
Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, the Kentucky Department of Insurance. Registration must be completed through your eServices account after the Department processes your application.
Exam Fee $50
Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?
There are 15 sections of the test in Kentucky:
- Types of Health Insurance Policies
- Disability Income Insurance
- Medical Expense Insurance
- Health Insurance Providers
- Common Provisions and Features
- Required Uniform Policy Provisions
- Optional Uniform Policy Provisions
- The Application and Underwriting
- Group Health Insurance
- Special Types of Health Policies
- Social Health Insurance
- Health Insurance and Taxation
- Kentucky Laws and Regulations for All Lines
- Kentucky Laws and Regulations for Life and Health
- Kentucky Laws and Regulations for Health Only
Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Kentucky?
- You must hold the same class of license and line of authority in your home state.
- Apply as non-resident initial license applicant at www.nipr.com.
- Non-resident agents are not required to file continuing education in Kentucky, but must comply with resident state requirements. Please note: If you are applying for an agent (producer) license, please do not select consultant or managing general agent on the application. You must hold a consultant or managing general agent license in your resident state to apply for this license.
Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Kentucky?
To renew your license through the Kentucky Department of Insurance website, you must have an eServices account.
- If you need to create an account, go to http://insurance.ky.gov and click on eServices to “create account.”
- Select License Renewal Invoice from the menu.
- Complete the application, and submit. Please note: There is no renewal fee for the agent (producer) license if the licensee holds active insurer appointment(s). However, you must renew even if there is no fee. If you have no insurer appointments at time of renewal, the fee is applied. No new license certificate is provided at time of renewal. Current license certificate is continuous until terminated or revoked. A new copy may be printed anytime through eServices.
Licensees who have renewal AND continuing education requirements MUST COMPLETE BOTH REQUIREMENTS PRIOR TO THE LAST DAY OF BIRTH MONTH TO AVOID CANCELLATION.
CONTINUING EDUCATION COMPLETED EVEN ONE DAY AFTER THE DUE DATE IS CONSIDERED LATE, AND LICENSE WILL BE TERMINATED. REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE WILL BE REQUIRED. (See next question for reinstatement details.) LICENSE REINSTATEMENT MUST BE COMPLETED WITHIN 12 MONTHS OF INACTIVE DATE TO BE EXEMPTED FROM PRELICENSING AND EXAMINATION.
No Renewal Fee if the Licensee holds active insurer appointments.
Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Kentucky?
To apply for reinstatement of license, current continuing education must be complete (if applicable), and a license application, license fees, and Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) background report (if applicable) is required. There will be a gap in licensure. Upon reinstatement of license, all insurers must re-appoint the licensee for appropriate lines of authority. Reinstatement must be completed within 12 months of inactive date to be exempted from pre-licensing and examination.
Late Renewal Fee of $40 for Residents and $50 for Nonresidents
Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Kentucky?
Twenty-four (24) hours are required for each compliance period, and three (3) of those hours must be in ethics course concentration. Hours may be any combination of classroom or self-study.
Please note: For those individuals who hold an agent (producer), adjuster, and life settlement broker license, CE hours taken are credited for all licenses at the same time. Up to twelve (12) hours will carry over to the next compliance period, but are credited as “general” hours.