Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Mississippi?
Accident and Health Producer Insurance License
Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Mississippi?
Step 1: Complete a pre-licensing course that has been approved by the Department of Insurance. We recommend using ExamFX. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will issue a certificate of completion which you may download and print from your online ExamFX account. Certificate population may be delayed by a short period time due to need for proctor validation.
Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE at www.pearsonvue.com. You may also schedule over the phone at (888) 293-4222.
Exam Fee $52
Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) which must contain your name and photograph. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.
After the exam, results will be available immediately.
Step 4 Apply for your license. Mississippi resident applicants may use the online application service at www.nipr.com or www.sircon.com/mississippi.
License Fee $100
Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements.
Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Mississippi?
Resident applicants must complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education.
We recommend using ExamFX for pre-licensing study.
Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Mississippi?
Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE at www.pearsonvue.com. You may also schedule over the phone at (888) 293-4222.
Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?
There are 2 parts of the test in Mississippi:
- General Knowledge which includes Product Knowledge, Terms and Concepts
- Mississippi Specific which includes State Statutes, Rules and Regulations
Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Mississippi?
You are strongly encouraged to apply electronically at www.sircon.com/mississippi or www.nipr.com. You may submit either a MS application or NAIC Uniform application and appropriate license fee. The MID staff will verify home state licensure on the NAIC Producer Database (SPLD).
Nonresident License Fee $100
Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Mississippi?
- Licenses are now issued on a biennial basis with a minimum term of 13 months and a maximum term of 24 months.
- It is strongly recommended that you renew your license electronically at www.sircon.com/mississippi or at www.nipr.com.
- All licensees who submit a clean electronic renewal application should receive their licenses via email within five business days.
- You may also choose to return your paper renewal application and the license fee to the Department before the expiration date.
- All licensees who choose to submit a clean paper renewal invoice should receive their licenses via email within five business days, as well.
Non-residents: MID staff will verify home state licensure on the national state producer licensing database (SPLD).
Renewal Fee $100 for Residents and Nonresidents
Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Mississippi?
- A producer may reinstate his/her license within 12 months of the expiration without having to retake the examination, by paying the 50% late fee and completing approved continuing education, if required.
- The reinstatement will result in your license receiving a new issue date when processed by the Mississippi Insurance Department.
- For those with inactive licenses, if you wish to reinstate, you may submit either:
- the first-time Mississippi Insurance Producer paper application (write “Reinstate” at the top)
- or go on-line at www.sircon.com/Mississippi “Reinstate Your License”. (Late fee is included.)
Reinstatement Fee $150 for Residents and Nonresidents
Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Mississippi?
- Individual Insurance Producers who hold a license in one or more of the following lines of authority: Life, Accident and Health, Property or Casualty, for a license period of more than eighteen (18) months, need twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education (including three (3) hours of ethics) in order to renew their license.
- Individual producers with a license period of eighteen (18) months or less complete twelve (12) hours of continuing education.
Mississippi Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook