How to get an Insurance License in New York

Licensing Information

Licensing Steps

Studying for Exam

Scheduling the Exam

Parts of the Exam

Renewal Information

How to Renew

Continue Education

Expired License

Nonresident License

Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in New York?

Accident and Health Insurance (Producer) license

Q: What are the Licensing Steps in New York?

Step 1: Complete a prelicensing course that has been approved by the NY Department of Financial Services. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will issue a certificate of completion which you may download and print from your online ExamFX account.

Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, PSI Services LLC. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at PSI. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 733-9267.Your exam may be taken at a physical PSI examination center or via a remote online proctored exam. Exam Fee: $33 per attempt

To change of cancel your testing appointment, you must contact PSI Services LLC at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee. A voicemail or email message is not an acceptable form of cancellation. Please use the PSI Website or call PSI to speak directly to a Customer Service Representative.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When you register for ExamFX prelicensing courses, schedule your license exam, and/or apply for your license it is important to use the same name that appears on the identification forms you plan to present at the time of your testing appointment.

Security measures are taken for all testing methods. Restrictions on what you may bring with you to the testing center, into the testing room, and what you may wear will be enforced. For more detailed information about the security measures that will be taken during your testing appointment, please read and review the candidate bulletin offered at PSI Exams

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), one of which must contain your name and photograph. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

At the end of your exam, you will receive a printed score report. The report indicates your overall score and grade, including the numerical percentage of questions answered correctly and whether you have passed or failed.

Step 4: Apply for your license. Click Here to navigate to the Original License Application page on the Department’s website for additional information. https://www.dfs.ny.gov/insurance/abindx.htm

Licensing fee: $80

Step 5: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.

Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in New York?

NYS Insurance Law requires an individual who is seeking an agent, broker or public adjuster license to complete a pre-licensing course approved by the Superintendent of Insurance. These prelicensing courses should thoroughly prepare applicants for their exam.

Here is a list of each topic covered on the exam:

New York Accident and Health Insurance Agent/Broker Examination

100 Total Questions

Time Limit: 2 hours

Passing score: 70%

  • General Insurance
  • Accident and Health Insurance Basics
  • Individual Health Insurance Policy General Provisions
  • Disability Income and Related Insurance
  • Medical Plans
  • Long-Term Care Insurance
  • Group Health and Blanket Insurance
  • Federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act
  • Government Health Insurance Plans
  • Private Insurance for Senior Citizens & Special Needs Individuals
  • Insurance Regulation

Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in New York?

Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, PSI Services LLC. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at PSI. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 733-9267.Your exam may be taken at a physical PSI examination center or via a remote online proctored exam.

To change of cancel your testing appointment, you must contact PSI Services LLC at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee. A voicemail or email message is not an acceptable form of cancellation. Please use the PSI Website or call PSI to speak directly to a Customer Service Representative.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When you register for ExamFX prelicensing courses, schedule your license exam, and/or apply for your license it is important to use the same name that appears on the identification forms you plan to present at the time of your testing appointment.

Security measures are taken for all testing methods. Restrictions on what you may bring with you to the testing center, into the testing room, and what you may wear will be enforced. For more detailed information about the security measures that will be taken during your testing appointment, please read and review the candidate bulletin offered at PSI Exams

Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?

Yes, there are 2 general categories: General Knowledge and State Law. Below, you’ll find a list of all the topics covered on the exam. Please refer to PSI Exams for more information on exams.

New York Accident and Health Insurance Agent/Broker Examination

100 Total Questions

Time Limit: 2 hours

Passing score: 70%

  • General Insurance
  • Accident and Health Insurance Basics
  • Individual Health Insurance Policy General Provisions
  • Disability Income and Related Insurance
  • Medical Plans
  • Long-Term Care Insurance
  • Group Health and Blanket Insurance
  • Federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act
  • Government Health Insurance Plans
  • Private Insurance for Senior Citizens & Special Needs Individuals
  • Insurance Regulation

Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in New York?

  • New York issues BOTH Agent and Broker Licenses. DFS uses the National Insurance Producer Registry’s (NIPR) Non-Resident Licensing for individuals only. Non-Residents who hold valid licenses outside New York may apply through NIPR for a New York non-resident license.
  • We encourage you to use the NIPR. NIPR will provide your home state certification directly to the Department of Financial Services. You will not have to go to your home state regulator for that document. You need only to complete the online application. The NIPR will collect a nominal fee for this service.

Nonresident License Fee: Click Here to view fee (dependent on your resident state)

Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in New York?

  • Producers who hold: Life, Accident/Health, and Variable Annuities; or Life/Variable Annuities are required to take 15 hours of CE every 2-year license term.
  • Producers who hold combined licenses of Life and Health and Property and Casualty are required to take 30 hours of CE every 2-year license term OR a total of 15 Bridge-approved courses which apply to license renewal requirements in duplicate.

The license term ends on the producer’s date of birth. Licensees who are born in an even year will renew on even years, those born in an odd year will renew on odd years. Public Adjusters license term ends in even numbered years on 12/31. Continuing education requirements must be completed 60 days prior to the license expiration date.

Producers are not allowed to retake previously completed continuing education courses for credit, regardless of license term.

New York does not allow excess credits to be carried forward into the next licensing period.

Resident renewal fee:

Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in New York?

A license in expired status can be re-instated by submitting a relicensing application.

The Individual/TBA License is issued with an expiration date determined by date of birth:

  • If you were born in an even numbered year, your license expires on your birthday in an even numbered year.
  • If you were born in an odd numbered year, your license expires on your birthday in an odd numbered year.
  • Your license will expire on your birthday regardless of the length of licensing period.

For agents, all appointments are automatically terminated when the license expires. Once you become relicensed, you will need to be reappointed by the sponsoring insurance company.

Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in New York?

In accordance with Insurance Law Section 2132, 15 credits of continuing education (CE) are required to renew or to relicense certain insurance licenses. CE will be required once the license has been in effect for more than 2 years and for every subsequent renewal or relicensing. Credits must be accumulated during the licensing period, which begins with the effective date of the license. In the case of relicensing, you may use credits accumulated in the previous licensing period, plus any completed up to the date that the re-licensing application is submitted.

CE must be completed before submitting the renewal or relicensing application.