How to get an Insurance License in North Carolina

Licensing Information

Licensing Steps

Studying for Exam

Scheduling the Exam

Parts of the Exam

Renewal Information

How to Renew

Continue Education

Expired License

Nonresident License

Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in North Carolina?

Apply for a producer license with health & accident insurance line of authority. Also known as a heath license.

Q: What are the Licensing Steps in North Carolina?

Step 1: Complete a prelicensing course that has been approved by the Department of Insurance. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will issue an Examination Admission Ticket which you may download and print from your online ExamFX account. Review your ticket for accuracy and complete it by filling in the paperwork as directed by the form. Once you have completed your prelicensing education you have 90 days from the date of completion to take and pass your licensing exam.

Step 2: Complete an electronic application at www.nipr.com. Pay the associated fees. You will receive an Authorization Email from Pearson VUE with your “reserved” NPN (National Producer Number) and other important information. You must complete this step before registering for your licensing examination. Information located within the Authorization Email will be gathered during the test registration process.

Step 3: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at www.pearsonvue.com. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 274-0668. Your examination fee is $45 per examination attempt. To change of cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When you register for ExamFX prelicensing courses, schedule your license exam, and/or apply for your license it is important to use the same name that appears on the identification forms you plan to present at the time of your testing appointment.

Step 4: Take and pass you state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.) the primary of which must contain a photograph with a signature and the secondary of which must contain a signature. It is necessary to bring your Examination Admission Ticket provided to you by ExamFX at the time of course completion. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

Candidates who fail the exam will receive a score report that includes a numeric score and diagnostic information relating to the general portion of the examination. Candidates who pass the exam will receive a score report marked “pass.”

Pearson VUE will electronically submit passing scores for the examination to NIPR to match up with your pending application.

Step 5: Be aware that the state of North Carolina requires fingerprinting to process your license application. After completing the electronic NIPR application, you will be emailed a link that allows you to print the Fingerprint Submission Packet-Releases Form. Call your local law enforcement to obtain a schedule of the days/hours for fingerprinting services; confirm that the office will do Livescan fingerprints for non-criminal reasons.

Upon your fingerprinting appointment you must take with you the Fingerprint Submission Packet-Releases Form. Be sure to include the cover page and complete pages 1 and 3 of the packet before this appointment. You must bring a photo ID. You must have the law enforcement person sign page 2 of the packet. Fingerprinting fee $38

Upon completion of this crucial step, send the completed form pages 1 through 3 to the North Carolina Licensing Office at Pearson VUE via: 1) fax at 888-959-3010, 2) scan the documents and send via email to NorthCarolinaLicensingOffice@Pearson.com, or 3) Mail to: NCDOI/Pearson VUE, P.O. Box 14209, Raleigh, NC 27620.

Your fingerprints will be sent electronically to the SBI for the state and national criminal check. The SBI will send a hard copy of the criminal record check to the North Carolina Licensing Office at Pearson VUE.

Step 6: If all requirements are met, the North Carolina Licensing Office at Pearson VUE will approve the application. You will receive an email notifying you to print your license within 48 to 72 hours. Licensing Fee: $82 plus $50 per line of authority. 

Step 7: Maintain your license by being aware of your continuing education requirements. Most insurance licenses must be maintained by completing a certain number of credit hours of continuing education each licensing period. ExamFX offers continuing education courses that will help you comply with your state’s requirements. Click here to view your state’s education rules and stay on top of your license.

Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in North Carolina?

Complete a prelicensing course that has been approved by the Department of Insurance. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will issue an Examination Admission Ticket which you may download and print from your online ExamFX account. Review your ticket for accuracy and complete it by filling in the paperwork as directed by the form. Once you have completed your prelicensing education you have 90 days from the date of completion to take and pass your licensing exam

Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in North Carolina?

Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at www.pearsonvue.com. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 274-0668. Your examination fee is $45 per examination attempt. To change of cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.

IMPORTANT NOTE: When you register for ExamFX prelicensing courses, schedule your license exam, and/or apply for your license it is important to use the same name that appears on the identification forms you plan to present at the time of your testing appointment.

Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?

Yes, there are two sections on the exam that cover different types of material: General Knowledge and State Law. Each category includes several topics. Here is a breakdown of those topics:

North Carolina Accident and Health Examination

60 Total Questions (55 scored, 5 pretest)

Time limit: 75 Minutes

Passing score: 70%

General Knowledge:        

  • Accident and Health Policies
  • Accident and Health Provisions
  • Other Accident and Health Insurance Concepts

State Law:        

  • North Carolina Statutes and Regulations for Accident and Sickness Only

Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in North Carolina?

North Carolina will recertify Non-Resident Agent licenses by reviewing their license status in their Home State. If a Non-Resident Agent’s Home State license(s) are in good standing their North Carolina Non-Resident Agent license(s) will be extended.

$50 registration fee

$44 application processing fee

Total $94

Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in North Carolina?

Insurance Agent Licenses do not renew and are valid until surrendered, canceled or revoked in respect to the following:  Life, Accident & Health or Sickness, Property, Casualty, Personal Lines, Medicare Supplement Long-Term Care, Variable Life and Variable Annuity Products.

Additionally, Variable Life and Variable Annuity Products also requires the prerequisite license Life license remains active; and Medicare Supplement Long-Term Care also requires the prerequisite license Accident & Health or Sickness remains active.

To maintain a license ALL Resident Agents must comply with the continuing education requirements for the license(s) held.

North Carolina will recertify Non-Resident Agent licenses by reviewing their license status in their Home State. If a Non-Resident Agent’s Home State license(s) are in good standing their North Carolina Non-Resident Agent license(s) will be extended.

Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in North Carolina?

  • Resident Insurance Producers, Adjusters, and DHS Adjusters who do not meet their Continuing Education requirements by the due date will be expired. If they complete the CE within 4 months, they may contact the North Carolina Department of Insurance and pay a $75 fee to reinstate their license. If the missing CE is not completed within 4 months, they must restart the licensing process.
  • Applications that are pended by the state for additional information or requirements will be declined by the state if no response is received from the applicant within thirty (30) days of the state’s request. Other supporting documentation not related to background questions may be faxed to the state.
  • Applicant must provide a valid business email.
  • All license types renew their license on March 31st every year or on August 31st every year for surplus lines.

Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in North Carolina?

Prometric is the Department’s CE Administrator, handling all continuing education services for North Carolina including provider approval, course approval, course roster processing and compliance calculation for licensees.

https://www.prometric.com/test-takers/search/ncceprod