Login | Partner With Us

Call Us: 1 (866) 444-9673

How to get an Insurance License in South Dakota

Licensing Information

Licensing Steps

Studying for Exam

Scheduling the Exam

Parts of the Exam

Renewal Information

How to Renew

Continue Education

Expired License

Nonresident License

Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in South Dakota?

Accident, Sickness, and Health Insurance Producers License

Q: What are the Licensing Steps in South Dakota?

Step 1 (optional): Complete an optional prelicensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam.

Step 2: Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, PearsonVUE. You may also schedule over the phone at (888) 873-6205. Fees must be paid at the time of reservation, and will not be accepted at the test center.

Exam Fee: $85

Combination Exam Fee: $95

**If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 24 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee. If you are cancelling your appointment, you must do so at least three calendar days prior to your appointment.

Step 3: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you one valid form of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), which must contain a photograph and a signature. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.

When candidates complete the examination, they will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail.” Candidates who pass the examination will receive a score report that includes information on how to apply for a license.

Step 4: Apply for your license at www.sircon.com/southdakota or www.nipr.com within 12 months of passing the examination.

License Fee: $25

Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in South Dakota?

We recommend using ExamFX for prelicensing study, However Pearson Vue also has study materials on South Dakota’s testing website.

Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in South Dakota?

Step 2: Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, PearsonVUE. You may also schedule over the phone at (888) 873-6205. Fees must be paid at the time of reservation, and will not be accepted at the test center.

Exam Fee: $85

Combination Exam Fee: $95

**If you need to reschedule your exam, you must do so at least 24 hours prior to your testing appointment or you will forfeit your examination fee. If you are cancelling your appointment, you must do so at least three calendar days prior to your appointment.

Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?

General Knowledge:
Field Underwriting Procedures
Types of Health Policies
Policy Provisions, Clauses and Riders
Social Insurance
Other Health Insurance Concepts
Types of Health Policies

State Law
South Dakota Statutes and Rules Common to All Lines
South Dakota Statutes, Rules and Regulations Pertinent to Sickness and Accident Only

Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in South Dakota?

Non-Residents can apply for a license online via NIPR  or alternatively at Sircon. South Dakota is reciprocal in its licensing of nonresident Producers. Under a reciprocity agreement South Dakota offers Producers
licensed in your state the same privileges in South Dakota that match to those that your state offers South Dakota Producers. Procedures for qualifying as a nonresident Producer are exactly the same as those that your state uses to qualify South Dakota residents who want to represent insurers in your state.

Non-Resident License Fee: $30 

Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in South Dakota?

Resident Renewals

Resident producer licenses renew biennially based on the producer’s birth month. Renewals are completed electronically through Sircon. The renewal period will open 60 days prior to the license renewal deadline.

Resident Renewal Fee: $20+$5 Service Fee 

First License Renewal after New License is Issued

In some instances, there is a shortened time frame between the approval and issuance of a new non-resident license and the first license renewal period. A new licensee is immediately entered into the license renewal cycle upon when the new license application is approved. The license renewal process is tied to the licensee’s birth month and structured to allow a full 90-day renewal period prior to a license expiration date.

If a licensee has a birth month that occurs within 90 days after the new license is issued, the license renewal date will occur in the licensee’s birth month of the following year. If a licensee has a birth month that occurs outside of the 90-day period following the new license issue date, the license expiration date is set for the licensee’s first occurring birth month.

For example:

New License Approval Date Licensee’s Birth Month First License Expiration Date (Renewal opens 90 days prior to expiration date)
June 2, 2018 October October 31, 2018
July 5, 2018 August August 31, 2019

Non-resident producers must renew their license by the end of their birth month every two years. You can check your license expiration online using the License Inquiry Service. The renewal period will open 60 days prior to the end of the renewal deadline.

Non-Resident Renewal Fee: Reciprocal 

Renew online at NIPR or Sircon.

Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in South Dakota?

There is no requirement to take another exam from the state, though depending on the format of your continuing education, it is possible that you may take a short knowledge test at the end of the course to be sure that you understand important insurance concepts, laws, and regulations.

Resident Late Renewal Fee: $40

Non-Resident Late Renewal Fee: Reciprocal 

Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in South Dakota?

CE Guidelines

Producers in South Dakota who are licensed either as a Life and Health OR Property and Casualty Producer must complete 10 hours of CE every 2-year license term.

Credits Carried Over

No carry over credits are allowed.

Repeat Courses

A student cannot take a course more than once in a 2-year license term.

Non-Residents

Nonresidents are exempt from all CE requirements in South Dakota. A nonresident who has completed the initial long-term care training in another state with a substantially similar requirement will still need to complete the state required Long-term Care Medicaid training.