Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Tennessee?
Accident and Health Producer Insurance License
Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Tennessee?
Step 1: Complete a prelicensing course that has been approved by the Department of Insurance. We recommend using ExamFX. Once you have completed your course, ExamFX will issue a certificate of completion which you may download and print from your online ExamFX account.
Step 2: Schedule your exam with your state’s testing provider, Pearson VUE. The fastest way to schedule your exam is to do so online at Pearson Vue. You can also schedule your exam over the phone at (800) 274-4957.
**Exam fees must be paid at the time of reservation.
**To change or cancel your testing appointment, you must contact Pearson VUE at least 48 hours in advance or forfeit the examination fee.
Exam Fee: $59
Step 3: Take and pass you state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), one of which must contain your photograph. You must also bring with you your certificate of completion. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.
Once you have completed your examination you will be made aware of your results. Examination results may take up to three days to appear on the Tennessee Department of Insurance’s website.
Step 4: Apply for your license. Tennessee resident applicants must use the online application service at NIPR. Additional licensing application guidance may be accessed on the NIPR website.
Resident License Fee: $50
Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Tennessee?
The exam for each type of license consists of questions that test knowledge of topical areas listed in the content outline for that exam. Although we recommend using ExamFX for prelicensing study, there are also study materials available on the state testing website Pearson Vue. The prelicensing exams must be completed and passed with a score of 70% or better BEFORE you can register for the exam.
Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Tennessee?
Schedule your examination with Pearson Vue online. You can also schedule the exam by phone at: (800) 274-4957.
**You must present your Prelicensing Education Certificate at the exam site on the day of examination to take the test.
Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?
- Field Underwriting Procedures
- Types of Health Policies
- Health Policy Provisions, Clauses and Riders
- Social Insurance
- Other Health Insurance Concepts
- Tennessee Laws and Departmental Rules Common to All Lines
- Tennessee Laws and Departmental Rules Pertinent to Accident and Health Insurance Only
Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Tennessee?
Tennessee is reciprocal in its licensing of nonresident Producers. Under a reciprocity agreement Tennessee offers Producers licensed in your state the same privileges in Tennessee that match to those that your state offers Tennessee Producers. Procedures for qualifying as a nonresident Producer are the same as those that your state uses to qualify Tennessee residents who want to represent insurers in your state. For more information, please contact the Division of Insurance for information on licensing requirements that apply. For more information or an application, go to the NIPR website at www.nipr.com
Non-Resident License Fee: Reciprocal
Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Tennessee?
Producers can renew their license here: NIPR
Resident Renewal Fee: $60
Non-Resident Renewal Fee: See Retaliatory Fee
Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Tennessee?
There is no requirement to take another exam from the state, though depending on the format of your continuing education, it is possible that you may take a short knowledge test at the end of the course to be sure that you understand important insurance concepts, laws, and regulations.
Resident Reinstatement Fee: $120
Non-Resident Reinstatement Fee: See Retaliatory Fee
Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Tennessee?
Tennessee Life and Health Producers OR Property and Casualty must take 48 hours including 4 hours of ethics every two-year license term. Best Practice: CE should be completed at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date to allow ample time for the CE provider to report the credit. This will also allow time for the licensee to process their renewal prior to expiration.
Producers cannot take a course more than once within 2 calendar years from the initial completion date.
General credits can only be applied to Life and Health or Property and Casualty. Life and Health AND Property and Casualty: 10 credits in L&H and 10 credits in P&C. A minimum of 8 credits in each license. **Please check your SBS transcript if you are a producer in your first licensing period, Your CE compliance period may be longer than 2 calendar years.
Credits Carried Over
Not more than 12 CE credits may be carried over as general credits to the next licensing term.
Licensees must renew on or before the last day of the licensee’s birth month every 2 years. Licensees who are born in an even year will renew on even years, those born in an odd year will renew on odd years. Producers cannot take a course more than once within 2 calendar years from the initial completion date. **Please check your SBS transcript if you are a producer in your first licensing period. Your CE compliance period may be longer than 2 calendar years.
A non-resident producer’s satisfaction of their home state’s CE requirements shall constitute satisfaction of this state’s continuing education requirements, if the non-resident producer’s home state recognizes Tennessee’s continuing education requirements on the same basis. The commissioner may, within his/her sole discretion, enter into reciprocity agreements with other state’s insurance regulators to grant recognition to the continuing education credits received from other jurisdictions for non-resident insurance producers.