Q: What type of insurance license is needed to offer Medicare plans in Texas?
General Lines – Life, Accident, and Health Insurance Producer License
Q: What are the Licensing Steps in Texas?
Step 1: (optional): Complete an optional prelicensing course that helps prepare you to take and pass your licensing exam. We recommend using ExamFX.
Step 2: Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, Pearson Vue. You may also schedule over the phone at (888) 754-7667. Payment is not accepted at the testing center.
Step 3: Be aware that the state of Texas requires license candidates to submit fingerprints to the Department of Insurance. Electronic fingerprinting appointments must be made online through MorphoTrust USA. Or by calling 888-467-2080 Monday through Friday, 8AM-5PM Central time.
Step 4: Take and pass your state licensing exam. On the day of your appointment, you must bring with you two valid forms of government issued identification (driver’s license, passport, military I.D., etc.), one of which must contain a photograph and a signature. You will not be able to take your exam if these requirements are not met.
Step 5: Apply for your license via SIRCON within 12 months of passing the examination.
Q: How do I study for my health insurance license exam in Texas?
The exam for each type of license consists of questions that test knowledge of topical areas listed in the content outline for that exam. Although we recommend using ExamFX for prelicensing study, there are also study materials available on the state testing website Pearson VUE.
Q: How do I schedule to take my health insurance exam in Texas?
Schedule your exam online with your state’s testing provider, Pearson Vue. You may also schedule over the phone at (888) 754-7667. Payment is not accepted at the testing center.
Q: Are there different parts to the health insurance exam?
- Completing the Application, Underwriting, and Delivering the Life Policy
- Types of Life Policies
- Life Insurance Policy Provisions, Options and Riders
- Taxes, Retirement, and Other Insurance Concepts
- Field Underwriting Procedures
- Types of Health PoliciesHealth Policy Provisions, Clauses, and Riders
- Social Insurance
- Other Health Insurance Concepts
- Texas Statutes and Rules Common to Life and Health Insurance
- Texas Statutes and Rules Pertinent to Life Insurance Only
- Texas Statutes and Rules Pertinent to Accident and Health Insurance Only
- Texas Statutes and Rules Pertinent to Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs)
Q: How do I apply for a nonresident health insurance license in Texas?
Applicant must have an active equivalent license for the requested line of authority(s) in their resident state. Applicant cannot apply for General Lines Agent -Property & Casualty AND General Lines Agent -Life, Accident, Health & Health Maintenance Organization simultaneously. Separate applications are required.
- Your license has been expired for more than 90 days, but less than one year.
- You don’t live in Texas, but you have a license in good standing in a reciprocal state.
Q: How do I renew my health insurance license in Texas?
Individual licenses are typically valid for two (2) years. You may renew online here. You may also renew your license by mail, by following the instructions printed on the official renewal notice.
Q: What do I do if my health insurance license has expired in Texas?
If a person’s license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the person may not renew the license, but is entitled to a new license without taking the applicable examination if the person submits to TDI a new application, the license fee, and an additional fee equal to one-half of the license fee. If a person’s license has been expired for one year or more, the person may obtain a new license by submitting to reexamination, if examination is required for original issuance of the license, and by complying with the requirements and procedures for obtaining an original license.
Late Renewal Fee $75
Q: What do I do for Continuing Education to keep my health insurance license in Texas?
- CE Guidelines
- Agents in Texas must take 24 hours of continuing education each two (2) year renewal period. The license renewal date is two (2) years from the initial license issue date. All CE must be completed before the expiration date of the license. Best Practice: CE should be completed at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date to allow ample time for the CE provider to report the credit. This will also allow time for the licensee to process their renewal prior to expiration.
- Repeat Courses
- A course may not be taken more than once in any 2-year license renewal period.
- Approved Courses
- Producers MUST complete at least 50% (12 hours) of their required CE in certified classroom or classroom equivalent courses. Up to 12 hours of CE may be completed with self-study courses. Two of the 24 hour credits must be in ethics/consumer protection.
- Credits Carried Over
- All self-study credits completed in excess of this amount will not be applied to your continuing education transcript.